How Do I Configure and Use Shared Contacts?

How Do I Configure and Use Shared Contacts?

Concept

Shared contacts enables scopes of Office Manager and higher to add and edit a group of contacts that will be viewable to all users within a domain. All users can view the shared contacts within the contacts page and dock. Viewing and editing shared contacts is currently limited to the Portal only.

Definitions

  • Shared contact - a contact that is shared with all users within a domain.

Rules

  • Shared contacts are available for a single domain only.
  • Shared contacts can only be edited by the Office Manager scope and higher.
  • The editing of shared contacts is currently limited to the Portal and is not available in any version of SNAPmobile.
  • Shared contacts are enabled by default. Shared contacts can be disabled by logging into the Admin UI of the Core Module and navigating to System > Settings > Advanced > UI Config. Add/modify the UI Configuration parameter PORTAL_SHOW_SHARED_CONTACTS and set the value to no

Procedure

Adding Shared Contacts

  1. Log into the Portal with a scope of Office Manager or higher and navigate to the Users page.
  2. Click on the Shared Contacts button close to the top right of the page; as shown below.
  3. Shared contacts will be displayed in a table similar to the way that regular contacts are displayed.
  4. A shared contact can be added by clicking the Add Shared Contact button or by importing. Importing shared contacts uses the same CSV formats as for regular contacts.
  5. Fill out the details of the contact and click Save.
  6. Additional shared contacts can be added quickly by using the Save and add another option.
  7. Shared contacts can be edited or deleted using the standard Edit and Delete buttons.

Viewing Shared Contacts

Shared contacts will appear in every user’s contacts and can be seen throughout the Portal and other applications. These contacts behave just like regular contacts but are not editable by scopes lower than Office Manager; such as Basic User.

  1. You can view shared contacts by visiting the contacts page or opening the contacts dock. Shared contacts will also appear in other apps like the Attendant Console. 
  2. View only shared contacts in the contacts page or dock by clicking the dropdown filter and selecting Shared.
  3. A shared contact will have a special icon next to their name to differentiate it from regular contacts.
  4. Shared contacts can be edited and deleted from the contacts page by scopes of Office Manager and higher.
    • Related Articles

    • How Do I Use Call Center Reporting?

      To access call center stats and reports, you must be assigned Call Center Supervisor permissions in the TrueVoIP Portal. Stats Grid A color-coded stats grid shows the following information:  Green = value accepted. Yellow = value is within the range ...
    • How to Use the Microsoft Teams Desktop Application or Web Application with Your TrueVoIP Extension

      The TrueVoIP Connector for Microsoft Teams is a separately licensed add on per user/extension. For more information about using Microsoft Teams with TrueVoIP, contact our sales team. Intro Microsoft Teams is a powerful collaboration tool that is ...
    • Using the TrueVoIP Web Client

      The TrueVoIP Web Client is a web based application that allows all users to perform several different functions from their web browser without the need for a desk phone.  There is no additional cost for the TrueVoIP Web Client and all users who have ...
    • How to Reset Polycom Phone to Factory Default Settings

      Method 1: Reset using the Phone Settings Menu Use this method if you know the current admin password of the phone Press the Menu/Home Key. Select Settings. Select Advanced. The Password will depend on the profile: Active (with profile): acquire and ...
    • Changing Call Forward Settings

      To change your call forward settings in your TrueVoIP account, first login to the TrueVoIP Manager Portal. For more information about accessing the portal, see the article Accessing the Portal.   Once inside the manager portal, click the Answering ...